Kentucky DUI-1st Conviction Penalties

I hope everyone has a great weekend!

And remember, stay safe and don't drink and drive. I only say this because I've been defending a few DUI cases lately and it has opened my eyes more than ever. After speaking with my clients and seeing what stress a DUI can cause, I can confidently say that a $15 cab ride is worth the hardships that a drunk driving arrest entails (aside from the fact that you may be a danger to others on the road).

For those who are interested, here is a short summary of the main penalties for a DUI-1st offense conviction in Kentucky (and this doesn't include the money you will spend on attorney's fees and court costs which will likely add up to a few thousand dollars!):

- $200 to $500 fine and/or 48 hours to 30 days jail. Community labor of 48 hours to 30 days may be substituted for fine or jail.

- If an aggravating circumstance is present at commission of offense, there is a mandatory minimum of four (4) days imprisonment.

For more information or representation, call me 24/7 at 859-905-0714 or email me!